It is illegal to drive a vehicle in Virginia while the privilege to do so has been suspended or revoked. The penalties for a violation or subsequent violations are very harsh in Virginia. In addition to fines and sometimes even mandatory jail time, the incidental consequences can be devastating, even for first time offenders. The attorneys of The Reed Law Firm specialize in defending members of the public in traffic related offenses in Prince William County, Manassas, Fairfax, Stafford and surrounding jurisdictions. We offer free consultations for any traffic matter so you can know your rights and understand your options.
First Time Offenders
A first offense of driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license is a Class 1 misdemeanor which carries up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine. See, Virginia Code § 46.2-301. Additionally, a conviction will result in an additional suspension period equal to the initial suspension period. Generally, the court will not allow a restricted license to be issued, even for traveling to work or school, meaning a driver will be forced to rely on other means of transportation.
Third or Subsequent Offense
A third offense of driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license within a 10 year period is a Class 1 misdemeanor which carries up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine. See, Virginia Code § 46.2-301. 10 days in jail is the mandatory minimum. The third conviction will also result in an additional suspension period equal to the initial suspension period. The court generally will not allow a restricted license to be issued.
An experienced attorney can help you to negotiate with the prosecutor to lower your fine, help you keep your license, reduce or eliminate a jail sentence, plea the matter down to a lesser charge, or in some cases, to have the case dismissed. Because every case is different, and to help you determine whether our firm can help you, we offer free consultations for all traffic related cases. Please contact us to schedule your free consultation today.